Marks & Spencer expands overseas with 46 websites

Marks & Spencer has virtually doubled the variety of countries in which it will offer its dresses and homeware as it seeks to capitalise on the growth in online browsing. 

The retailer, which is pushing ahead with its most current turnaround try, released forty six new sites in countries including Argentina, Fiji, Nepal and Uzbekistan. It will now have a electronic presence in additional than one hundred markets letting hundreds of thousands of customers to purchase merchandise this sort of as its bestselling Sienna Straight Leg jeans. 

The transfer will come right after the chain vowed to make a radical break with the previous below the slogan “never ever the very same once more” virtually a yr back. 

Insiders have reported they do not want the business to return to the “old system” pre-pendemic, when only a fraction of the retailer’s dresses ended up sold about the online and none of its meals. The business documented a 75pc increase in e-commerce revenue abroad at its most recent 50 percent-yr benefits. It reported the global enlargement was comparatively inexpensive and it can very easily alter the plans depending on how several orders are coming in each county. 

M&S owns 50 percent of Ocado Retail, the online supermarket, and has been advertising groceries by the platform given that September. 

Paul Friston, global director, reported: “Launching in an further forty six markets usually means we can now access a variety of new customers who can acquire online with M&S for the initially time as perfectly as enabling us to examine underlying demand from customers devoid of considerable upfront expenditure.”

The full list of countries to have M&S sites:

  • Argentina
  • Bahamas, Barbados, Belarus, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria
  • Cambodia, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ivory Coastline, Croatia
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador, Estonia
  • Fiji
  • Gabon, Ghana, Guatemala
  • Iceland
  • Jamaica, Jordan
  • South Korea
  • Kyrgyz Republic
  • Latvia, Lithuania
  • Maldives, Moldova, Mongolia, Myanmar, Macedonia
  • Nepal
  • Pakistan, Panama, Peru
  • Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Sri Lanka
  • Taiwan Region, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia
  • Uruguay, Uzbekistan